skip to Main Content

Try SUP

Have you seen what looks like people standing on surf boards and paddling around the lakes?  Well you’re not too far off.  While they were originally used for surfing, stand-up paddleboards (SUP) have become a popular new trend in paddle sports, and a great way to exercise your core muscles.  You can sit, kneel, stand, or even lie prone on these boards and use them to paddle, surf, fish, or even do yoga.  If you’re interested in seeing what it’s like, this program offers the opportunity to try SUP in a protected environment under the supervision of a certified instructor.  Students will be given a brief tutorial to get started including tips to help with balance.  After a bit of practice near shore, students will go on a short trip to get the feel of touring on a SUP.  Boards, paddles, and life jackets are provided.  Participants must be at least 12 years old to take this class.  Children ages 12-16 must have an adult registered to take the class with them.

Fee:  $55 (includes board, paddle, leash, & PFD)

Registration Information

Schedule:

Friday, May 18, 2018   5-7pm   Fox River, Waterford, WI
Monday, May 28, 2018   3-5pm   Fox River, Waterford, WI
Tuesday, June 5, 2018   6-8pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Sunday, June 17, 2018   3-5pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Tuesday, June 26, 2018   6-8pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Sunday, July 1, 2018   3-5pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Tuesday, July 17, 2018   6-8pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Sunday, July 21, 2018*   10am-12pm*   Lower Nemahbin Lake*
Sunday, July 22, 2018   6-8pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Thursday, August 9. 2018   5-7pm   Fox River, Waterford, WI
Saturday, Aug. 18, 2018   4-6pm   Wind Lake, Racine County
Thursday, Aug. 23, 2018   5-7pm   Fox River, Waterford, WI
Wed, August 29, 2018   5-7pm   Fox River, Waterford, WI
Saturday, Sept. 8, 2018   3-5pm   Wind Lake, Racine County

*This course is being offered through the City of Brookfield Parks & Recreation Department.  Pricing may differ from SherriKayaks courses.  To register for this course, please call 262-796-6675.  Discounts, credits, and SherriKayaks gift certificates cannot be used toward this course.

 

SUP Basics

If you’ve been hooked by the standup paddleboard bug, you’ll want to work on improving your skills so you can get the most enjoyment out of the sport.  In SUP Basics, you’ll learn the proper way to perform to increase endurance, improve control, and reduce the risk of injury.  Learn what to look for in order to make good choices when purchasing your own equipment.  You will be encouraged to try falling off your board and remounting it from the water.  You must be at least 12 years old to take this class.  Children 12-16 must have an adult registered to take the class with them.

Skills and Information Covered in this Course:

  • Introduction to equipment – board, paddle, leash, and life jacket
  • Sizing a paddle
  • Paddling while prone, sitting, kneeling, and standing
  • Carrying and car-topping a board
  • Paddling stances and moving around on the board
  • Forward stroke
  • Reverse stroke
  • Sweeps and turning strokes
  • Draw strokes
  • Safe capsize and re-mounting the board from the water
  • Launching and landing from shore and docks
  • Safety considerations for SUP paddling

Fee:  $65 (includes SUP, paddle, leash, life jacket)  $55 (with your own SUP)

Registration Information

Schedule:

Sunday, May 20, 2018 3-5:30pm Fox River, Waterford, WI
Sunday, May 27, 2018 2-4:30pm Fox River, Waterford, WI
Thursday, May 31, 2018 5-7:30pm Fox River, Waterford, WI
Saturday, June 9, 2018 10am-12:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 5-7:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County
Saturday, June 30, 2018 10am-12:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County
Sunday, July 8, 2018 4-6:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County
Saturday, July 28, 2018† 10am-12:30pm† Wind Lake, Racine County†
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 5-7:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County
Friday, August 3, 2018 5-7:30pm Fox River, Waterford, WI
Wed, August 15, 2018 5-7:30pm Fox River, Waterford, WI
Saturday, August 25, 2018 10am-12:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County
Saturday, Sept. 1, 2018 4-6:30pm Wind Lake, Racine County

†This course is being offered through the Franklin Community Education & Recreation Department.  For more information or to register, please call 414-423-4646.  Discounts, credits, and SherriKayaks gift certificates cannot be used toward this class.

Back To Top
%d bloggers like this: